How To Apply For FEMA Disaster Assistance After Hurricane Irma

Central Florida residents are receiving a little bit of good news after Hurricane Irma: they can now apply for disaster relief help through FEMA. Emergency management officials made the recent announcement that Central Florida residents whose property suffered damage due to Hurricane Irma now have the opportunity to receive help through FEMA.

A total of 21 counties across the state are now eligible to apply for individual and household programs. Those counties include: 

Brevard, Broward, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Collier, DeSoto, Duval, Flagler, Glades, Hardee, Hendry, Hernando, Highlands, Hillsborough, Indian River, Lake, Lee, Manatee, Marion, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Pasco, Palm Beach, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Sarasota, Seminole, St. Johns, St. Lucie, Sumter and Volusia.

How To Apply

You can apply two ways:

After you file for assistance, FEMA has 10 days to respond and if you are approved, you should receive assistance within 2 to 3 days.

All applicants will need the following to apply for assistance:

  • Social Security number
  • Telephone number
  • Mailing address
  • Private insurance information
  • Bank account information for direct deposit
  • Paperwork related to damaged property (photos, receipts, etc.)

You must file a claim within 60 days. Damages in Florida after Hurricane Irma are estimated to top $100 billion. 


What do you think?

386 points
Upvote Downvote
Avatar Celebrity

Written by Kaitlyn Fusco

Frequent User

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *