CFHLA Awards Hospitality’s Highest Honors for 2020


On Dec. 21, 2021 the Central Florida Hotel & Lodging Association (CFHLA) recognized the 2020 Members of the Year and presented CFHLA’s most prestigious award, the Charles Andrews Award.

The Charles Andrews Memorial Hospitality Award for Community Leadership honors one leader for their personal contributions to the Central Florida community and the regional hospitality industry. This year’s recipient was Stephen Weisz, President/CEO, Marriott’s Vacations Worldwide. This year’s recipient was selected for his part in enhancing and diversifying Central Florida’s hospitality industry and community. Stephen’s career with Marriott spans 48 years and includes 24 years as the current President/CEO.

Under his leadership, the Marriott Vacations Worldwide has since expanded from 4,100 to nearly 23,000 employees around the globe. Mr. Weisz has also grown the Vacation Ownership Portfolio from 26 properties under one brand to over 110 properties across 7 brands.

Furthermore, since 1983, Stephen has been a proud supporter of Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals and locally has been responsible for raising over $4 million for the Arnold and Winnie Palmer Children’s Hospitals.

CFHLA 2020 Members of the Year Honorees:

Lodging Member of the Year Award
Fred Sawyers, Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek/Waldorf Astoria Orlando

Allied Member of the Year Award
Michael Hanley, Wealth Management Strategies of Central Florida

Engineer of the Year Award
Scott Titus, Hyatt House/Hyatt Place across from Universal and Hyatt Place Orlando I-Drive/Convention Center

CFHLA congratulates these distinguished 2020 honorees!


What do you think?

385 points
Upvote Downvote
Avatar Super Influencer

Written by Rich Maladecki

Content Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *